Arizona Secretary of State News and Events


For Immediate Release

June 11, 2004
For more information, contact Kevin Tyne at 602-542-4919.

Sec. of State Jan Brewer Certifies Candidates for 2004 Primary Election
List Released of Congressional Candidates Who Filed Statements On Recall

PHOENIX - Arizona Secretary of State Jan Brewer, today certified to the county election officials the names of 237 candidates for the 2004 primary election to be held on September 7, 2004. The full list can be found at the Secretary of State’s website: Secretary Brewer commented, “In light of all the confusion brought on by the redistricting lawsuits, I am extremely pleased to see so many candidates qualifying for certification for the primary election ballot.” Secretary Brewer also noted, “I look forward to a smooth, efficient and secure election process over the coming months.”

Also, as required by A.R.S. § 19-221(B), Secretary Brewer announced the following list of candidates for the office of United States Representative in Congress who filed a Statement on Recall.

The following candidates filed a Statement on Recall agreeing to resign if not re-elected on a recall vote: Eva Bacal, Stan Barnes, Randy Camacho, Bob Donahue, Jeff Flake, Randy Graf, Raùl Grijalva, J.D. Hayworth, Don Karg, Jim Kolbe, John McCain, Lou Muñoz, Rick L. Murphy, Roselyn O’Connell, Ed Pastor, Rick Renzi, Elizabeth Rogers, John Shadegg, Stuart Starky, Tim Sultan, and Joseph Sweeney.

The following candidates filed a Statement on Recall not agreeing to resign if not re-elected on a recall vote: Dave Kaplan, Gene Scharer, and Mark Yannone.

The following candidates did not file a Statement on Recall: Robert Anderson, Paul Babbitt, Jeffrey “Jeff” Chimene, Larry Coor, John Crockett, Gary Fallon, Powell Gammill, Ernest Hancock, Michael Kielsky, Ronald Maynard, and Craig Stritar.

Copies of the statements are on file in the Office of the Secretary of State and are available upon request.

- 30 -


Secretary of State Publications

Arizona Secretary of State