A dance studio must file a bond or cash deposit of $5,000 with the Secretary of State’s office. Per Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 44-1749(A), any member of the public can make a claim against a bond in the event that someone has been "damaged by the failure of the dance studio or other services specified in [a] contract or by the failure of a dance studio to comply with the provisions of [A.R.S. § 44-1741 et. seq]."
The bond filed must continuously renew itself and a dance studio can be held to unlimited liability.
However, per A.R.S. § 44-1750, a dance studio can claim an exemption and must file that exemption by January 15 of every even year. The dance studio must meet the following criteria:
- Must be filed by the manager or owner of the dance studio.
- The dance studio does not require, or in the ordinary course of business, receive prepayment of lessons or other services. However, instruction scheduled and received within 30 days of payment does not constitute prepayment.
- The dance studio does not charge more than $200 for any single course of instruction.
What to File
Filing Fee: None.
Filing Length: A bond or cash deposit will remain valid until amended or cancelled. Any exempted dance studios must file a new exemption form every two years.
Processing time: 2-3 weeks.
- Public record requests must be submitted with a Public Record Request Form (PDF) , and 10 cents per page filed. If you’d like certified results, include an additional $3 with your form.
- If you have any questions, please call us at 602-542-6187 or 1-800-458-5842
Where to File
Filing By Mail
Secretary of State
Attn: Dance Studio Dept.
1700 W. Washington Street, Fl. 7
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2808
In-Person Filing - Phoenix Office
State Capitol Executive Tower
1700 W. Washington Street
In-Person Filing - Tucson Office
Arizona State Complex Building
400 West Congress
First Floor, Suite 141