Arizona Secretary of State - Michele Reagan

Arizona Secretary of State Logo Arizona's Official Web Site

Executive Branch
State Universities and Colleges
Arizona State University (ASU)


Office of President Michael M. Crow 2011-2012


Michael M. Crow

Michael M. Crow became the 16th president of Arizona State University on July 1, 2002. He is guiding the transformation of ASU into one of the nation's leading public metropolitan research universities, an institution that combines the highest levels of academic excellence, inclusiveness to a broad demographic, and maximum societal impact—a model he terms the "New American University." Under his direction the university pursues teaching, research, and creative excellence focused on the major challenges of our time, as well as those central to the quality of life, sustainable development, and economic competitiveness of Arizona and the nation. He has committed the university to sustainability, social embeddedness, and global engagement, and championed initiatives leading to record levels of diversity in the student body.

Under his leadership ASU has established more than a dozen new transdisciplinary schools and large-scale research initiatives such as the Biodesign Institute; the Global Institute of Sustainability (GIOS); incorporating the School of Sustainability; the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College; and important initiatives in the humanities and social sciences. During his tenure the university has nearly tripled research expenditures, completed an unprecedented infrastructure expansion, and announced naming gifts endowing the W. P. Carey School of Business; Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering; and Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College.

Prior to joining ASU, Dr. Crow was executive vice provost of Columbia University, where he also was professor of science and technology policy in the School of International and Public Affairs. As chief strategist of Columbia's research enterprise, he led technology and innovation transfer operations, establishing Columbia Innovation Enterprises (renamed Science and Technology Ventures), as well as advancing interdisciplinary program development. He played the lead role in the creation of and served as the founding director of the Earth Institute at Columbia University, and in 1998 founded the Center for Science, Policy, and Outcomes, dedicated to linking science and technology to optimal social, economic, and environmental outcomes. In 2003, CSPO was reconstituted at ASU and is now based in both Phoenix and Washington, DC.

A fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration and member of the National Advisory Council on Innovation and Entrepreneurship and Council on Foreign Relations, he is the author of books and articles relating to the design and analysis of knowledge enterprises, technology transfer, sustainable development, and science and technology policy.

Born in 1955 in San Diego, California, Dr. Crow is the son of a U.S. Navy sailor. The father of three children—Ryan, Britt, and Alana —he and his wife, Dr. Sybil Francis, reside in Paradise Valley, Arizona.

Biography, ASU website 2012

Contact Information

Office of the President
Mail Code 7705
P.O. Box 877705
Tempe AZ 85287-7705
Phone: (480) 965-8972
FAX: (480) 965-0865


Key Staff

Patricia Ballard
Administrative Assistant

Annemarie Belter
Communications Specialist

Geoff Bodeman
Analyst Senior Systems Support

Rudy Bravo
Federal Relations

Ásta Caltagirone
Fiscal & Business Operations

Mark Dudlik
Graphic Design Specialist
Design Lab

Paul Emerson
Administrative Technology Support

Lisa Fitzgerald
Administrative Specialist

Stuart Hadley
Assistant Vice President for Policy Affairs & Executive Director
Federal Relations

Rachelle Maxwell
Office Assistant

Janice Maziarz
Administrative Secretary

James O’Brien
Vice President and Chief of Staff

M. Denise Quiroz
Director of Communications

Margo Rivera-Wilson
Administrative Specialist

Joyce Smitheran
Director, Office of the President & Special Assistant to the President

Sean Storrs
Constituent Communications Coordinator

Kyle Whitman
Science/Innovation Policy Analyst

Erin Yunt
Administrative Specialist

Policy Advisors

Lieutenant General Benjamin Freakley (Ret.)
Special Advisor to the President for Leadership Initiatives

Diane Humetewa
Special Advisor to the President for American Indian Affairs
Special Counsel to the Office of General Counsel

Mariko Silver
Senior Advisor to the President

Jacqueline Smith
Advisor to the President for Social Embeddedness
Executive Director, University Initiatives

Rafael Rangel Sostmann
Special Advisor to the President

Related Offices

Anne Gazzaniga
Director of Planning Studies

Richard Stanley
Senior Vice President & University Planner

Melissa Werner
Director of University Ceremonies

Christine Wilkinson
Senior Vice President & Secretary of the University
President, ASU Alumni Association


June 2012