Electoral College meets in Phoenix to cast votes for President and Vice-President of the United States

For Immediate Release
December 19, 2016


Matt Roberts, Director of Communications 
Phone: (602) 542-2228
[email protected]




Arizona Secretary of State Michele Reagan today convened the state’s Presidential Electors to formally cast the Electoral College votes for the Office of President and Vice President of the United States.  The final vote resulted in 11 votes cast for Donald J. Trump for President and Michael R. Pence for Vice-President.

According to the provisions of law governing Presidential Elections the ballots must be cast on the first Monday after the second Wednesday in December following the Presidential Election. Eleven electors are scheduled to cast their votes by signing a certificate of vote.

For more information on the Electoral College, visit the National Archive and Records Administration.


Arizona’s 2016 Republican Presidential Electors were: Bruce Ash, Walter Begay, Jr., Sharon Giese, Robert Graham, Alberto Gutier, Jerry Hayden, Carole Joyce, Jane Pierpoint Lynch, J. Foster Morgan, James O’Connor and Edward Robson.  Secretary of State Reagan will administer the Oath of Office to the electors, and also witness the certificates. This event officially concludes the 2016 election cycle.