States Form Election Cybersecurity Task Force, Call on Federal Government to Rescind "Critical Infrastructure" Designation for Elections

For Immediate Release
February 28, 2017


Matt Roberts, Director of Communications 
Phone: (602) 542-2228
[email protected]

WASHINGTON, DC - The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), which represents chief state election officials, has announced the formation of a NASS Election Cybersecurity Task Force and the adoption of a bipartisan resolution opposing the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's January 2017 classification of election infrastructure as "critical infrastructure."

“No one would argue our election equipment isn’t critically important, but the critical infrastructure designation from the federal government is a step to far,” said Secretary Reagan.  “I join my colleagues from around the country in our appeal to the new administration to reconsider the designation and empower the states to do what’s right for our voters.”

The NASS Election Cybersecurity Task Force was created to advance collaboration on the unique priorities and challenges that exist regarding cybersecurity and elections. In addition to helping states share information and combat threats, the body is tasked with providing guidance on NASS efforts and fostering effective partnerships with public/private stakeholders, including DHS and other federal government entities. 

NASS President Denise Merrill (Connecticut) and NASS President-elect Connie Lawson (Indiana) will co-chair the task force, which was established on February 18, 2017 at the annual NASS winter meeting in Washington, DC. 

The NASS Resolution Opposing the Designation of Elections as Critical Infrastructure was adopted by a voice vote on February 18 during the same meeting.