Rose Mofford & Mae Sue Talley next AzWHF Living Legacies

For Immediate Release
April 11, 2016

For More Information Contact:

Melanie Sturgeon
(602) 926-3720
[email protected]


WHO:       The Honorable Rose Mofford, the first female Secretary of State and Governor of Arizona and the Honorable Mae Sue Talley, a pioneer in the business industry as well as philanthropist and diplomat

WHAT:     Arizona Women’s Hall of Fame Living Legacy Induction Ceremony & Reception

WHEN:     May 5th, 3 p.m. - 5 p.m.

WHERE:   Arizona Historical Society Museum:  1300 N. College Avenue, Tempe, AZ


Up until 2015, nominees had to be deceased to be considered for induction. Now, the Arizona Women’s Hall of Fame will continue to induct two living women under the category “Living Legacies”.

The 2016 Inductees:

The Honorable Rose Mofford

The Honorable Rose Mofford served as Arizona’s first female Secretary of State and our first female Governor, thus opening the door for other Arizona women to successfully seek and win these offices.  Rose spent fifty-one years of her life working in state government and in a 1988 commencement speech at South Mountain College she said of her career, “...I’ve been fortunate to have worked with 12 [governors] and with hundreds of state legislators and thousands of city, county and state officials and I have enjoyed every day of it.”  She was acclaimed for bringing stability and dignity back to government after the impeachment of Governor Evan Mecham.  She is a champion for children, the elderly, the homeless and the disadvantaged.

The Honorable Mae Sue Talley

A true Renaissance woman, the Honorable Mae Sue Talley is a business woman, philanthropist, diplomat and rancher. Co-founder of Talley Industries, a privately held and family owned company that manufactures a wide range of proprietary and specialized products for defense, industrial and commercial markets, Mae Sue thrives on solving problems. Her business expertise and innovative approaches are sought by organizations, educational institutions and charities. Throughout her life she has founded, chaired, advised or served on more than 30 non-profit boards, on US Presidential commissions and councils and as a delegate to United Nations conferences.

The Arizona Women’s Hall of Fame program pays tribute, and honors in perpetuity, the remarkable women whose contributions to the arts, athletics, business, education, government, humanities, philanthropy, and science, have played a significant role in the history of Arizona and provide a significant contribution to the historical record of the State of Arizona. Currently, 97 women have been inducted. Women are inducted into the Hall of Fame every two years. Living Legacies will now be inducted each year.

A coalition serves as the participating sponsors for the Arizona Women’s Hall of Fame, including the Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records, the Arizona Historical Society, the Sharlot Hall Museum, the Governor’s Office for Women, and the Arizona Humanities council.